Spirit of America Classic Brings Top College Golfers

The Spirit of America Classic brings the nation’s top collegiate golfers to Decatur’s Burningtree County Club each year to determine which teams and individual are the best of the best.

Matt Gourgeot (second from left) won the 49th Spirit of America–the first winner ever from Decatur.

Previous winners include PGA Tour players Stewart Cink (’89) and Heath Slocum (’95).

Each year since 1967, the Classic has also raised significant funds for charity.

For the first time in the history of the tournament, the 2016 winner was a golfer from Decatur and a Burningtree Member: Matt Gourgeot.

This year’s tournament was produced in part with the help of these Daikin volunteers: Geoffery Ward, Brian Lesson, David Smith, Kevin Howell, Scott White, Michael Gilmore, Steve Smith, Vu Pham, Steve Palmer, Todd Waller, Travis Whithaus, Ash Ghoja, Meaghan Blake, Mike Gores, Jason Henley, and Halie Martin.

Many thanks to the dozens of Daikin and other volunteers who make the tournament an annual success, while showcasing Decatur to golfers from around the U.S.